Oxfordshire Book Award
2009 for ‘Dear Mother Goose’

US junior Library Guild Selection
Fall 2009 for ‘Red Ted and the Lost Things’

Children’s Laureate

Chevalier de l’ordre des arts et des letters
awarded by the French Government

Visiting Professorship
at Middlesex University

Visiting professorship
at London Metropolitan University

Visiting professorship
at Birkbeck College

Honorary degree
awarded by the University of East London in conjunction with the Tavistock Trust

Honorary degree
awarded by Exeter University

Honorary degree
awarded by Worcester University

English Association ‘Exceptional’ Award for Sad Book

Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor ‘Commended’ Award for Sad Book

National Literacy WOW Award
2005 Alphabet Poem

Honorary Doctorate, Open University

Sony Radio Academy Gold Award
2003 Radio short form: ‘On Saying Goodbye

Sony Radio Academy Silver Award
2001 Radio feature: ‘Dr Seuss: Who Put The Cat In The Hat?’

An International Reading Association Teachers’ Choices Award Winner

1999 (USA) Classic Poetry

Talkies Award for the Best Poetry Audio Tape of the year
1998 You Wait Till I’m Older Than You

Parent magazine’s Play and Learn Award
1998 Snore

Eleanor Farjeon Award for distinguished services to children’s literature


Glennfiddich Award for the Best Radio Programme on the subject of food
1996 Treasure Islands Special: Lashings of Ginger Beer

National Association of Parenting Publications Best Book Award
1993 (USA) Poetry For The Very Young

Publishers Weekly Cuffies Award: Best Anthology or Collection
1992 (USA) Walking the Bridge of Your Nose

Japanese Picture Book Award 
sponsored by Mainichi Newspapers, Outstanding Picture Book from Abroad

1991 We’re Going On A Bear Hunt

Horn Book Fanfare Title
1990 (USA) We’re Going On A Bear Hunt

School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
1990 (USA) We’re Going On A Bear Hunt

Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Award
1990 (USA) We’re Going On A Bear Hunt

Smarties Best Children’s Book of the Year Award
1990 We’re Going On A Bear Hunt

Children’s Rights Workshop ‘Other Award’ 

1983 Everybody Here

Signal Poetry Award
1982 You Can’t Catch Me

Sunday Times National Union of Students Drama Festival Award
1968 Backbone